MIDI Controller Numbers
The table below presents a summary of the MIDI Standard Controller codes in decimal and hexadecimal (h) form.
Decimal Hex Controller Name
0 00h Bank Select (Controller # 32 more commonly used)
1 01h Modulation Wheel
2 02h Breath Contoller
3 03h Undefined
4 04h Foot Controller
5 05h Portamento Time
6 06h Data Entry MSB
7 07h Main Volume
8 08h Balance
9 09h Undefined
10 0Ah Pan
11 0Bh 0Ch
12 0Ch Effect Control 1
13 0Dh Effect Control 2
14-15 0E-0Fh Undefined
16-19 10-13h General Purpose Controllers (Nos. 1-4)
20-31 14-1Fh Undefined
32-63 20-3Fh LSB for Controllers 0-31 (rarely implemented)
64 40h Damper Pedal (Sustain) [Data Byte of 0-63=0ff, 64-127=On]
65 41h Portamento
66 42h Sostenuto
67 43h Soft Pedal
68 44h Legato Footswitch
69 45h Hold 2
70 46h Sound Controller 1 (default: Sound Variation)
71 47h Sound Controller 2 (default: Timbre/Harmonic Content)
72 48h Sound Controller 3 (default: Release Time)
73 49h Sound Controller 4 (default: Attack Time)
74 4Ah Sound Controller 5 (default: Brightness)
75-79 4B-4Fh Sound Controller 6-10 (no defaults)
80-83 50-53h General Purpose Controllers (Nos. 5-8)
84 54h Portamento Control
85-90 55-5Ah Undefined
91 5Bh Effects 1 Depth (previously External Effects Depth)
92 5Ch Effects 2 Depth (previously Tremolo Depth)
93 5Dh Effects 3 Depth (previously Chorus Depth)
94 5Eh Effects 4 Depth (previously Detune Depth)
95 5Fh Effects 5 Depth (previously Phaser Depth)
96 60h Data Increment
97 61h Data Decrement
98 62h Non-Registered Parameter Number LSB
99 63h Non-Registered Parameter Number LSB
100 64h Registered Parameter Number LSB
101 65h Registered Parameter Number MSB
102-120 66-78h Undefined
Channel Mode Messages
121 79h Reset All Controllers
122 7Ah Local Control
123 7Bh All Notes Off
124 7Ch Omni Off
125 7Dh Omni On
126 7Eh Mono On (Poly Off)
127 7Fh Poly On (Mono Off)

Note: This document may include extensions to the HTML language supported by Netscape 1.1 or higher. Certain items may not display properly with other browsers. The most recent Netscape browser is available from the Netscape Web Site.
This document prepared by Prof. Jeffrey Hass, Indiana University School of Music, Center for Electronic and Computer Music, 7/17/95, updated 2/5/99.
Email any comments, suggestions, requests for new documents, or corrections to cecm@indiana.edu

Return to CECM Home Page.